News & Events

Gov. Beshear Announces $55 Million Grant to Expand Mountain Parkway in Wolfe County

Federal grant will fund improvement to 11 miles of Parkway

Gov. Andy Beshear announced Tuesday that his administration successfully secured for a $55,150,000 Infrastructure for Rebuilding America (INFRA) grant from the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) to fund the Mountain Parkway Expansion through Wolfe County. The grant was awarded to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC).

The federal grant will be used to widen 11 miles of the Mountain Parkway, creating a safer and modernized four-lane corridor for drivers travelling between Interstate Highway 64 and Salyersville. The expansion will increase capacity for freight and goods along this corridor, reduce travel time and connect Eastern Kentucky to the rest of the commonwealth.

“This is a great step forward for the people of Eastern Kentucky, is great news for Team Kentucky and will open up the region for so many opportunities,” Gov. Beshear said.

The INFRA grant will fund the following:

  • Upgrade the last remaining two-lane section of the Mountain Parkway corridor between I-64 and Salyersville;
  • Improve the safety and efficiency of travel through the corridor;
  • Provide for the reconstruction of the existing Campton interchange (KY 191) to allow full eastbound and westbound access;
  • Modernize the Hazel Green interchange (KY 1010) to improve safety and mobility.

“Moving forward with construction on the Wolfe County segment will bring the Mountain Parkway Expansion one step closer to closing the only gap in a 400-mile, four-lane, high-speed corridor for commerce and mobility across Kentucky,” said Jim Gray, Secretary of Transportation. “Closing this gap is an investment in safety, in future economic development and most of all, in Kentuckians.”

This investment in the Parkway will also provide significant support for Kentucky’s growing shipping, manufacturing and logistics industries.

Watch a statement from Gov. Beshear here.

Read the full release from Sen. Mitch McConnell here.